They are watching my life.

As I sat starting at this picture of my sister and my daughter taken on Easter Sunday, thinking about how beautiful they are; the above phrase was the startling reality that captivated my thoughts.

Everything I say and do – how I live out my daily life in front of those I’m not trying to impress, those who live with me everyday, who see how I respond when things don’t go my way. All the little things; good and bad, write on the slate of who they might become.  

This thought shakes me a bit. Our human nature is constantly fighting to be in control, to have it’s own way. To live a life filled with self. I am no different. I find that even when I know what is right, the battle to actually do it and live it is always present.

The outside world  usually gets my best face. But these two girls that my heart adores, they see who I really am. They watch and wait for a life worth following.

“No man is an island entire of himself, every man is a piece of the continent, a part of the main.” ~ John Donne

