Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I couldn’t help but notice that the former Kate Middleton chose not to say “to obey” and in fact had the phrase removed from her vows to Prince William.

To obey, means to submit; to comply with or follow another. Just as Christ obeyed and submits to the will of the Father.  And in Ephesians 5:1 Paul urges us to “Be imitators of Christ.”

Could it be that one of the many reasons we are so repulsed by the thought of obeying or submitting to another, especially a woman to her husband, is because our culture teaches us that to do so implies weakness or inferiority?  I believe we have bought into that lie. I know I have.

Originally, God created Eve’s desire to be towards her husband. To need him. To desire to fall under his authority and headship. And for a while God’s original plan worked beautifully, until rebellion came along messed up the whole thing.

If you, like me, are a woman, we were also hardwired to be that way. So why do we fight so hard against what we were made to do? Instead, striving for a life of equality and independence and even dominance of men. We teach our young girls to grow up to be self-made, self-sufficient,  independent and especially not to submit to the authority of a man. Period. And even if he does put a ring on her finger, that definitely doesn’t mean she has to take his last name because after all, she is her OWN person.

And yet, we have been given clear instructions that don’t seem to match up –

Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.  Galatians 5:22-24

Okay so I’m cool with loving, honoring and cherishing – but submit? You’re kidding right? I mean seriously – submit?….to a man??

This definitely doesn’t line up with what our culture deems as normal. And lets just be honest, how is that really gonna work out in the long run?

But how do we escape the very clear instructions to do it anyway?

As I chewed on the words of Scripture a while, I tried to recall how many Christ following women I personally know or have known that truly live out obedience to this command. It was sobering to realize that I could count those women on less than one hand, and I have certainly not always been one of them.

And maybe I’ve figured out a few of my own explanations why……

(more to come)

