Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Every since we starting dating 12 years ago my husband has repeatedly expressed his desire to take me on a date in which we would go out to dinner by boat, enjoy strolling along on the water for a bit afterwards and end it on our own little private island watching the sun set together. Until this weekend it had never happened for one simple reason – It just wasn’t my kind of date night. So every time he has mentioned the idea through the years, selfishly, I shut it down. But all this time, I’ve been missing this…..


Lately, one of the many things I’ve been letting myself realize is that everything in our marriage doesn’t have to go my way, or be my thing all the time. Sometimes, I just need to let go. I need to relinquish control and let heart fall into the love my husband has for me. To trust that he loves me and wants the very best for me. I’ve never really let myself do that, and I’m starting to realize how much time I’ve wasted not seeing the depth of his love for me.

I had the best time with him that night. It’s a night I’ll never forget and I have to admit that this date was truly the single most amazing date I’ve ever had. It was fun, spontaneous, out of the ordinary, and something I had said I’d probably never do. 

I believe that if we will just stop waiting for things to get better, stop believing there is something more, we might be able to realize the beauty in what we already possess. If we look, it’s all around us. This extravagant love, this beautiful life of mine has been there all along, I’ve just been missing it because I couldn’t see it. All of that is changing.

Have any great date night ideas to share? I’d LOVE to hear them.

