Tags

, , , , ,

From the moment our heart beats for the very first time it is under siege. As we take our first breath a war is waged inside of us we were never originally intended to fight, but nonetheless one we cannot deny is real. And as long as we breathe, we have enemies…

enemies of our hearts.

Life can be hard on the heart. The world is full of outside influences that have the power to disrupt the rhythm of your heart. Most are subtle. Some may even appear to be necessary protection from further disruptions. Over time we develop habits that slowly erode our heart’s sensitivity. The inevitable pain and disappointment of life have cause us to set up walls around our heart. Must of this is understandable. But at the end of the day, there’s no way around the truth.

Our hearts are out of sync with the rhythm it was created to maintain. These disrupters that throw your heart out of sync are not like a steroid that will eventually work its way out of our systems.

Those things that disrupt the rhythm of the invisible heart linger. If left alone, some will linger for a lifetime. After a while we come to accept these disrupters as part of us, part of our personality. And so we catch ourselves staying, “That’s just the way I am.” But  you weren’t always that way. And those closest to you know it.  ~ Andy Stanley

Oh how familiar I have become with a few of the enemies of my heart over the past year or so. Recently I’ve decided that I’m through being okay with way things are. It’s time to face them and do the hard work of dealing the root issues in my own heart.

This is the journey I’m on.

And I know I’m not alone in this.

So let me ask you the uncomfortable question I’ve been asking myself – How are things with your heart? Not you career, your ministry, your family, or your finances.

Your heart.

