Tags

Occasionally I stumble across a song that I wish I had written the words for because of how closely they echo the way I feel. When I find songs that so closely express what’s going on inside of me, I typically listen to them on repeat as if I’m savoring every detail of the goodness and truth of the song. Then my favorite thing to do is to sit down at my piano and reproduce my own version.

This one has been my song for about a month now and I’m in love with the words that so adequately convey my heart. I particularly enjoy the lyrics of most music written by Audrey Assad and feel that she expresses so beautifully the internal struggles of life. And maybe I’m also just a little partial to the piano melody of this song. 😉

I hope you enjoy!

You dwell in the songs that we are singing
Rising to the Heavens
Rising to Your heart
Our praises filling up the spaces
In between our frailty and everything You are
You are the keeper of my heart

And I’m restless
I’m restless
‘Til I rest in You
(Oh God I wanna rest in You)

Oh speak now for my soul is listening
Say that You have saved me
Whisper in the dark
‘Cause I know You’re more than my salvation
Without You I am hopeless
Tell me who You are
You are the keeper of my heart

Still my heart
Hold me close
Let me hear a still small voice
Let it grow
Let it rise
Into a shout
Into a cry

I am restless until I rest in You

~ Audrey Assad

