Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Breaking You” by Audrey Assad has become one of my favorite songs lately. I listen to it a lot because I relate to it in it’s entirety. The other day I shared it with one of my very best friends. Actually, it’s one of the saddest songs I’ve ever heard. But still, there have been times that it felt like my life very much resembled the words sung.

But as sad as it is, the real reason I love this song is not because it reminds me of the dark times. I love it because it reminds me of the arms that reached down into my darkness and lifted me out and filled my heart with hope that at the time I never thought I could ever feel again.

That’s what hope does. 

Life happens and sometimes we get let down,

things don’t always turn out the way we thought they would and we get

disappointed

broken.

Brokeness feels crushingly painful, no matter what the reason behind it.

And sometimes we lose ourselves.

Being broken isn’t a bad thing, although it feels like we’re going to die in the process. When I look back at a recent times of brokeness, I have a bit more clarity in understanding how God was using painful circumstances to shape me, to help me find my identity and worth in Him. Sometimes there are things on the inside of us that need to be broken and pulled out so that new roots can be planted and that process isn’t pretty.

Times of brokeness in life usually come in times of great loss of some type [i.e. death, job loss, identity, marriage, finances, ministry loss] or personal failure.

But that isn’t the end of the story……or the song.

“Lift up your head

Help is on the way

Love is on the way

And it won’t pass you by.” 

There is nothing that will endear our heart towards another more than one who picks up the pieces of our shattered heart and life and lovingly mends it together again and breathes new life into our souls.

When you reach for love in the midst of your brokeness, you won’t be left disappointed.

I have experienced that truly, love is on the way

and if we choose to let it, brokeness can be a good thing – a very good thing.

I love the hope my life has found here. 

