I think it would be fair to say that I’ve spend a greater part of my teens and twenties feeling a bit unsettled about life. Not unhappy, just unsettled. Sort of always believing in the back of my mind that there was something I wasn’t doing or something I was missing out on.

But I’m beginning to realize that I was missing out, because I was so in a hurry and so consumed with…well, missing out!

I well remember early morning feedings with my babies while watching the Today Show and wondering, “Why am I HERE, instead of out there…..reporting next to Matt Lauer?”     😉

And I can’t help but wonder how many beautiful, perfect moments I may have missed because though my physical body was there, I wasn’t always truly present in those early morning times with two precious little people who laid staring up at me with adoring eyes.

Sometimes in life, it’s all too easy to get so focused on what we aren’t, that we fail to enjoy who we are. Or we fall into the trap of only seeing only what we don’t have, rather than marveling in all that we do have.

Lately, life has been teaching me how to learn to live in the here and now moments. Sometimes when I’m out with our little family, I find myself taking snapshots of the small moments in my mind and many times with my camera – and I let myself bask in the moment, because I realize it’s a moment in time, we will never live again…..and it’s as if I’m attempting to hang onto it forever.

One of the reasons we miss out on what’s beautiful around us so often, is because we go through life in way too big of a hurry. As if where we are today isn’t enough, so we hurry on to tomorrow, believing that our tomorrows will hold something better than today.

And so our lives are robbed of beauty.

Life lived in a hurry does that to us. And it ultimately leads to the inability to recognize reasons be enormously grateful for today. And ungratefulness robs us of the unique beauty of this moment – right now.

And so moments turn into days, days into months, and months into years. And one day, years down the road, we look back and realize we’ve missed so much we wish we could live all over again and savor it.

A grateful heart awakens each morning with the ability to revel in the small things that others may not even stop long enough to notice.

Like the way the warmth of the early morning light beaming through your window first thing in the morning feels. Or the way the chirping of the birds start to sounds like a melody if you sit and listen long enough. Or how the sounds of rain are so calming and peaceful when there is complete stillness and silence.

When was the last time you sat quietly and still on your living room sofa and looked around at the walls that shelter you and your family and felt deep thankfulness for those walls that surround you…..and the people that live within them, sharing life with you?

I’ve been letting myself do that quite a bit lately. And it’s changing me. I’m beginning to see how abundantly full and rich is the beauty of life.

The truth is, it’s been there all along –  just waiting for me to stop and notice it. 

So I think I’ll just slow down and stay a while, and let my heart dwell on all that is good and beautiful to be found here.

Will you stay here a while with me?

